Connect with us


Liverpool captain named FWA Footballer of the year




Liverpool captain (Jordan Henderson) has been crowned Football Writers’ Association (FWA) Footballer of the Year for the 2019/20 season.


He (Henderson) saw off stiff competition from Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne and Man United’s Marcus Rashford, as well as team-mates Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane, to claim the honour.

Liverpool’s dominance in the league was reflected in the voting as Trent Alexander-Arnold and Alisson Becker also received votes alongside him, but it was Henderson – with more than a quarter of the votes – who was the clear winner.

How Henderson became Liverpool’s leader

‘Absolutely special’: Liverpool lift Premier League trophy


Liverpool crowned 2019-20 Premier League champions

Reflecting on his win, Henderson said: “I’d like to say how appreciative I am of the support of those who voted for me and the Football Writers’ Association in general”.

“You only have to look at the past winners of it, a number of whom I’ve been blessed to play with here at Liverpool, like Stevie Gerrard, Luis Suarez and Mo Salah to know how prestigious it is.

“But as grateful as I am I don’t feel like I can accept this on my own.


“I don’t feel like anything I’ve achieved this season or in fact during my whole career has been done on my own.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.